Tags

,

On Wednesday evening my husband I put on our glad-rags and went off to the Durban Hilton Hotel’s Rainbow Terrace restaurant to sample their new Asian themed buffet which was such a treat. There are few meals to beat a buffet, don’t you think? I love that you can try a little bit of everything and then go back for more of the things you liked. It’s ideal for a fussy eater like me who is too scared to commit to something different if I have to choose just one meal.

Held every Wednesday night, the Asian buffet consists of a range of Chinese and Thai cuisine prepared by Chef Goo and his team led by Executive Chef David Goette. We were delighted to see all of our favourite Asian dishes on the buffet tables and surprised by some of the new discoveries we made.

From a deconstructed sushi salad, to dim sum, wonton soup, spring rolls, egg fried rice, Peking duck, lamb and Thai green curries, everything you could hope for on an Asian buffet makes an appearance. A clever touch was adding an Asian ‘flavour’ to the desserts with chilli in the chocolate spring rolls and green tea sponge cake.

Everything was delicious but my dish of the evening was the most tender piece of steak I have ever tasted. Cooked right in front of you as part of a stir fry which you design yourself, the Teriyaki beef fillet just melts in your mouth. My husband loved the Crispy Fish with Red Curry Paste – I must admit that it was a bit too hot for me. That being said, I am not a lover of blow-your-broeks-off hot food at any time, and he never fails to let me know that I am missing out. My first love when it comes to food is certainly the sweet, and I was not disappointed at the Hilton! I thoroughly enjoyed the lemon sorbet, green tea sponge, chilli chocolate spring rolls and coconut ice-cream (it was a buffet, remember!) whilst Brett’s standout desserts were the deep friend banana and the mango pancake.

The service is excellent and I was happy to note that the Hilton ensures that none of the usual buffet niggles, such as food running out or cutlery not being replaced, is allowed to happen in the Rainbow Terrace.

As you may recall, the weather was miserable on Wednesday night and the convenience of the undercover parking, accessible from Walnut Road, was very welcome and deserves a mention, too.

I am embarrassed to say that this was my first visit to the Hilton and I was most impressed. We will certainly be back for another meal at the Rainbow Terrace – this time I think we’ll try the Friday night seafood buffet.

The Asian Themed nights are held every Wednesday at the Durban Hilton Hotel from 6:30pm. The buffet costs R160 per person.