The Swan

One of my favourite Durban success stories is that of Amelia Smith who creates the wonderful Whimsy drawings. I first came across Whimsy at Essenwood Fleamarket on a Saturday morning in 2007 and fell instantly in love with the characters Amelia created. After several visits and agonizing over which drawings to buy, I became the proud owner of two originals which still have pride of place in my lounge. I soon spotted the brooches and my swan remains one of my most remarked upon. (For those of you who don’t know, I collect brooches and wear one every day, even to the gym!)

Since then, the Whimsy repertoire has grown to include jewellery, notebooks, t-shirts, wrapping paper, cards and novelties such as the series of cardboard cut-outs attached to tea bags and entitled “Adventure on the High Teas” and gorgeous vinyl wall decals.

Whimsy items are now available in little boutiques all over the country. In Durbs, you can still find Amelia at Essenwood but Whimsy is also found in several stores such as Mooi, Fat Tuesday and Book Boutique.

Amelia’s blog is as delightful as you would imagine so go and have a look at http://thesometimeszoo.wordpress.com/ and the Whimsy website at www.whimsy.co.za.

