“A Subtropical Vision” is the title for a new exhibition opening at the David Brown Fine Art Gallery in Johannesburg. Featuring some of my favourite Durban artists such as Grace Kotze, Jacqui Bruniquel, Andrew Verster and Bronwyn Vaugh-Evans, I think I will make a special trip up to Jozi to see it. I am particularly interested in representations of Durban in art and literature and to see eleven Durban artists’ work in one space would be quite fascinating for me. Durban’s complexities are very difficult to capture and I wonder if you would get a good sense of this enigmatic place through the eyes and representations of these eleven artists…? I will let you know.

The exhibition opens on 18 November and runs ’til 15 December at 39 Keyes Avenue, off Jellicoe in Rosebank. The exhibition features work by:

Andrew Verster
Angela Buckland
Bronwen Vaughan-Evans
Dee Donaldson
Grace Kotze
Jackie Freer
Jacki Bruniquel
Jane Oliver
Jenny Parsons
Peter Machen
Vulindlela Nyoni

