We had breakfast at Green with Envy early on Saturday morning. Predominately a nursery, there is greenery everywhere and the early morning light made the leaves glow. Huge, old trees provided pleasant dappled shade and the flower beds made me envious indeed, filled as they were with colour.

Breakfast was yummy and reasonably priced with excellent service and we whiled away a happy hour over our meal, sitting outside in the sunshine. You can choose to sit inside a beautifully appointed dining room with a large table filled with goodies to tempt you and art on the walls or outside on one of several patios, in the sun or shade as you please.

As we made our way out, we stopped to admire many of the plants on sale. Unfortunately, we don’t have a garden yet, but browsing here made us desperate for one in which to plant abundant hydrangeas and agapanthus. In order to access the nursery or coffee shop it is necessary to stroll through the gift shop which has some unusual gifts and knick-knacks for sale. I spent ages looking at the ribbon, smelling the aroma diffusers and adding some orginal gifts for those tricky people to my basket. (Can’t mention what as some of them may be reading!)

I was very tempted to take a fuschia orchid home with me but my husband sternly reminded me that our last two died quite dramtically and that it would be better if I left the orchid to be adopted by someone who could actually give it a reasonable chance of surviving ’til Christmas. I settled on a hardy little African Violet instead – my husband feels sorry for it.

All in all, a very happy morning was spent gorging on French Toast, bacon and omlettes; browsing for gifts and admiring the flora. We will definitely be back for a bit more R&R at Green with Envy – it has earned its place on my list of Durban gems.

Green with Envy, 281 Vause Road (off St Thomas), Musgrave. Tel: 031 2020 348.

