Tags

, , ,

By now you have probably all realised that I am quite preoccupied with shopping, for Christmas in particular at the moment. I try to start early, give it some thought and then inevitably I am at the shops on Christmas Eve, promising myself that it will never happen again.

This year, I think I might just be able to keep my promise to myself! I have been to the Christmas markets and still have several to go and now, my favourite gift buying store is expanding over Christmas! This is really exciting, people!

The KZNSA Gallery shop is one of my secret shopping spots – the kind of place where you don’t leave with an empty hand, or wallet as everything is really reasonably priced. They stock crafty and unusual pieces of art and jewellery, stationery, picture frames, hand bags, magnets, crockery and more. Some of my favourite things came from the KZNSA.

The KZNSA is holding their anual Christmas market, BuzzArt. The gallery space has been turned into a shop until January 9th. Filled to the rafters on both floors, in the gallery you will find hand-made jewellery, original artwork, ceramics, toys, Christmas decorations, clothes, books, bags and decor items. There is bound to be something for just about everyone on your Christmas list.

One of the focal points of the market will be the series of 18cm x 18cm blocks painted by local artists on sale for R350. Many see this as an opportunity to be able to afford a piece by a favourite local artist and the blocks are snapped up quickly, so hurry!

Make a plan to stay on for lunch or tea in the cafe afterwards. I am a regular and am particularly partial to the French Toast and Chocolate Cake (obviously not together!)

Some of my recent-ish purchases at the KZNSA Gallery shop:

For more information contact Gloria on 031 277 1700 or see http://www.nsagallery.co.za/current_main.htm.

