I am sure that many of you watched the SA Open with interest this weekend as it is always fun to see our city on tv. I was delighted every time our block flats came into view in the background of a shot. Durban, of course, can always be counted upon to ruin a perfectly good event through the weather. It is almost as though the city’s weather can be personified as a cruel, spoilt teenage king who enjoys spoiling the fun of his long-suffering citizens. Fortunately, it was only Thursday that was completely washed out and the rest of the weekend saw only brief showers and a good time was had by all!

We went along to watch on Friday morning and after a lengthy trek through the mud, happened upon Retief Goosen and so followed him around for the next while, enjoying a great display of golf.

Please excuse the pictures which were taken on my Blackberry. I was nervous to take my camera as I didn’t believe for a minute that the rain wouldn’t come down again and I wasn’t taking any chances.

Don’t you get goosebumps seeing the stadium almost hovering in the air in the background? Durban and the Durban Country Club can be very proud of having hosted a successful 100th South African Open Championship. For those of you who didn’t know, Ernie Els won the tournament with Retief Goosen coming in second. Proudly South African all the way!

