My sister's beautiful Christmas tree.

The last few days have been spent in a flurry of shopping, planning and shopping some more. So much for my resolution to buy all my gifts from the markets and thus avoid the shops! I still have a bit more to do today and then I will start the wrapping. I love seeing wrapped presents piled under the tree, waiting to reveal their delights. Durban finally seems to have given us the weather to which we have become accustomed over the December holidays and it is very pleasant to see blue skies and sunshine even if we have to pay for it in perspiration. I suspect that the only place more like a sardine tin than Gateway is Umhlanga beach.

Being the day before the day before, there is lots but little on the go in Durban. Everyone is wrapped up (‘scuse the pun) in their own Christmas errands and the last of the communal events are done for the Christmas run up, I believe. So all that remains for me to say for the next few days is have a merry Christmas. We’ll talk New Year in the new week.

