Those of you who have been reading for a while will know about my enduring love for cake. I am, however, quite discerning and have been known to reject a slice which does not meet my exacting standards (i.e. anything from Checkers.)

I love discovering new patisserie to delight my palate and to this end, I tried Chateau Gateaux, despite the fact that I was truly sceptical when I first heard about their concept of frozen cakes. Really? I thought the fresher the better when it came to cake. It turns out I was wrong and Chateau Gateaux cakes are just heavenly and convenient to boot. You know them – Fudge Picasso? If you haven’t tried it, do. And soon.

Imagine my delight, then, when I discovered that Chateau Gateaux has a Patisserie in Cowey Road. Off I went for tea and, unsurprisingly, I was certainly not tempted to send my cake back here! There is a wonderful selection of goodies on offer and I battled to decide what to have. They are so prettily presented that I would secretly have loved one of each.  In the interest of my waistline, though, I restricted myself to a single choice in the end: a divine chocolate concoction and my friend, Camilla, had a toffee apple pudding which garned a rave review.

Cakes, pastries, bread and croissants are on sale to eat at one of their quaint tables or to take away, and there is something for those who prefer savouries. In the sweets line, you will recognise all your Chateau Gateaux favourites in the store as well as some new temptations.

The decor makes you feel like you’re in a real Parisian side-walk setting with intricate wrought iron tables and chairs and delectables dispayed under bell-jars. I also love the waitrons’ outfits of read waistcoats and berets.

As well as the Cowey Road Patisserie, there is also a branch at Sunningdale Village. Both are open everyday (8:00 – 19:00 Monday – Saturday and 8:00 – 18:00).  For more info see the website or call the Cowey Road Patisserie on 031 309 1661 or Sunningdale on 031 562 8851.

