That headline is probably slightly misleading as Durban fashion hasn’t really been gone, but fashion shows in Durban have been few and far between in the past few years. Us Durban Fashionistas have had to console ourselves by delighting in the success of Durban designers on runways in Cape Town and Johannesburg whilst fervently wishing for someone to revive Durban Fashion Week.

Our prayers have been answered – not by a new Durban Fashion Week but by the 031 Collection. Presented by Mr Price (a proudly Durban brand, by the way), the 031 Collection will showcase established designers and fresh new talent in 3 shows next weekend, Thursday 19, Friday 20 and Saturday 21 May. Tickets are R170 from Computicket

Amanda Laird Cherry, Leigh Schubert, Holmes Bros, Terence Bray, Sibu Msimang, Francois Vedemme, Nguni Shades and Ruff Tung are the headlining designers who have established themselves as some of South Africa’s most popular sartorial whizzes. I have outfits from several of them – what to wear?!

You may remeber that I had the pleasure of cooking with the wonderful Terence Bray at the Good Food and Wine Show last year. He has been phenomenally successful and will soon have a ready-to-wear line stocked in stores in the USA.

The judges are just as exciting as the designers. Milisuthando Bongela, whose blog is one of my favourites; Lucilla Booysen, a doyenne of the SA Fashion scene; Jo Coelho, who I have mentioned often on my blog (I admire her so) and Leigh Schubert, who is obviously wearing two hats, are flying the flag for the SA design world. You will have seen the posters clinging to lamp posts all over the city baring the distinctive circular logo of the 031 Collection and wondered, like many of the people who have quizzed me, what the one emblazoned with Agyness Deyn is all about. Well, it turns out that the 031 Collection has invited her as a judge, which is hugely exciting for those of us who are fashion-ophiles. She will not be modelling but will be styling and judging. Tres exciting, no?

I am actually quite beside myself with excitement (as my over-use of the word in this post probably suggests) for this event. I am secretly hoping that more than one group of friends will invite me and that I can go on all three nights! Mmm… probably a bit extravagant but it is a lovely thought. I think I will be happy just to know that something that celebrates Durban talent and fashion and glamour will be happening even if I am not there on the two nights I don’t attend.  

You can be certain that I will be at at least one of the shows with bells on – which designer’s bells they will be, I’m not sure of but I will have lots of fun deciding.

For more information go to www.031collection.com, click on the picture (courtesy of the website), contact Alice on 031 555 8000 or search for 031 Collection on Facebook and Twitter.

