Tags

, , ,

So, I wrote about how excited I was to get to Zara’s new Gateway store on Friday and on Saturday I found myself there, along with half of Durban, and I thought that I would share my impressions with you.

Firstly, the windows draw you in with their inventive displays of the clothes shoes and accesories in store. I also like the fact that little placards in the windows advise you of the prices of the wares on display so that you can decide whether to go in at all. Which brings me neatly to my next point – Zara is not cheap but it’s not break-the-bank expensive either. I think that they have managed to keep prices quite competitive with Country Road, Trenery, Forever New and Aldo, which are, of course, also international brands which have set up shop (‘scuse the pun) at Gateway. To give you an idea (please don’t hold me to these prices, though), a pair of navy casual pants sells for R350- R400. The dresses I looked at were all above R400 and there are several big ticket items which have prices tags over R2000.

The store stocks ladies, gents and kids wear and it is all unfussy and accessible. Moms who fancy to dress their little girls in outfits that match their own can if they shop at Zara. There is a good range of clothing from casual to eveningwear and a variety of accessories which all seem to be good quality.

In a nutshell, I think that many people are going to find Zara to be pricey for regular purchases but Forever New, Country Road and Trenery have some competition from Zara for those who have the bucks or who are looking to splurge on a special item.

Go and see for yourself, though – Zara Gateway is on the second floor near the cinema escalators.  

 

