Tags

I really do look forward to the first Saturday of every month as wondering around the i heart market is one of my favourite past-times. I love to discover new stalls, delight in new wares at old favourites and buy the most delicious cupcakes. I love the fact that everything is handmade and therefore unique and there is not a piece of foreign junk to be seen anywhere.

The setting is also so lovely – under the trees in the shadow of Moses Mabhida stadium has to be one of Durban’s best spots. I am still surprised at how many Durbanites have never been to the market or, otherwise, haven’t visited since its early days in the church hall. If you fall into this group, please go along tomorrow as you are missing out on the top item of my ‘Things to do in Durbs’ list.

If you do go, look out for some of my favourite creatives: Rhenda at iKhaya, Nadia at Cupcake Couture, Max at Savior, Terry Angelos with her gorgeous art, Sam at Isla Designs and Lorna at Facets Jewellery. There really is something for everybody and you will be amazed and inspired at the level of creativity and craftsmanship of Durbanites.

The i heart market is on from 9:00 – 14:00 at Moses Mabhida. For more information see the i heart market blog

