Tags

My hubby and I watched Midnight in Paris on Sunday evening. The shots of the city brought back memories of our magical trip there almost a year ago and I have been daydreaming about it ever since.

Tableaus of us standing on the Eiffel Tower under the stars with the city of lights below and then amongst the thousands of  twinkling lights which light up the tower; walking down the Champs Elysee; munching on macaroons at La Duree; wondering into cafes for coffee and cheese;  devouring nutella crepes; strolling along the banks of the Seine, spinning through the air in the ferris wheel at the Tuilleries Carnival and staring at the grandeur of Notre Dame; seeing Degas’ ballerina paintings in the Musee d’Orsay have occupied my mind the whole week. I even dug out the final episode of Sex and the City and realised that we had stood on the bridge with all the locks as well. I had forgotten! The experience was so overwhelming.

I was stunned by Paris. I had read so much, looked at so many pictures of the city but I didn’t imagine that it was anything as magnificent as it is. The thing that sets Paris apart from the other great European cities, for me, is the space. In Paris you get an opportunity to stand back and take in the view – things are not built on top of each other and there is ample opportunity to stand and soak up the atmosphere and energy of each landmark.

I found the hustle and bustle to be exciting, too, but loved the fact that it was possible to turn down a side street and find it suddenly felt as though we were the only people in town. We wondered around, finding new, breath-taking sights around every corner. It was as the French would say fantastique!

So, my wish this Wednesday is simply to be in Paris.

