Tags

, ,

The weather in Durban today is wet and miserable – perfect for curling up under a blanket with a cup of tea and a good book. In my case it is Jane Raphaely’s eagerly anticipated autobiography, Unedited.

I am a complete magazine junkie and had to throw out hundreds of mags when we moved last year so I have been dying to read the memoirs of the Grande Dame of South African women’s magazines. I often used to joke that my vast general knowledge could be entirely attributed to Fairlady magazine, which was not a complete exaggeration, and I will always be proud that the first magazine I regularly contributed to is one that Jane’s company, Associated Magazines, started: House and Leisure.

I am quite a ways through the book already, despite a busy week, and I have, just as I expected, been inspired and motivated by Jane’s stories of life in the magazine biz. What I did not expect, however, was to be so touched by her obvious love for her family and friends and her frank discussions of parts of her life that have not been all sunshine and roses and this has made me love it all the more.

So, if you are looking for something absorbing, fascinating and motivating head on to Exclusive Books, pick up a copy and hope this weather holds so you have an excuse to read it cover-to-cover.

