Tags

, ,

At the Taste of Durban I was invited to sample the brandy cocktails created by the team at Fine Brandy.By Design. To say that I was a bit sceptical about the idea of a brandy cocktail is an understatement and I can’t admit that I found the idea particularly appealing. Brandy, to me, screams Coke and the braaivleis and it has never been a favourite of mine. As it turns out, it is exactly this perception that the team at Fine Brandy.By Design is trying to change.

They succeeded with me – the brandy cocktails were divine! I had the delish Fish Eagle Rio and more than a few sips of my friend’s Oude Meester Franklin. The Fish Eagle Rio is a mix of Fish Eagle, Honey Water and fresh lime wedges and I hope that it will be on the menu again next weekend at the Good Food and Wine Show. The combination of Oude Meester Demant, Angostura Bitters and Ginger Ale in the Oude Meester Franklin was quite tasty, too and the perfect accompaniment to the roasted beetroot and goats cheese salad it was paired with.

If your perception is like mine, I really recommend that you stop past the Fine Brandy.By Design stand at the Good Food and Wine Show next weekend (more about the show itself next week) and let them sweet-talk your taste buds into changing your mind about brandy.

For more information about Fine Brandy.By Design, see their website.

